RCCH covers total 898 artists from 16 indigenous communities of the Darjeeling and Kalimpong districts. They have a wide and amazing range of folk music and dance. Some of these have been documented as part of RCCH project. The communities are Gurung, Tamang, Limbu, Dhimal, Mangar, Tibetan, Rai, Khas, Sherpa, Lepcha, Bhutia, Newar, Kami, Damai, Bhujel and Sarki. Each of these communities has a range of colourful and lively tradition of songs and dances integrally related to their lifestyle.